Facebook Pixel Congratulations to UCLA AUD's Class of 2024! Opens a new window

Greg Lynn


Lynn has been at the intersection of the digital and physical in both architecture and design culture in general. The buildings, projects, publications, teachings, and writings have been influential in the acceptance and use of the advanced technologies germane to the aeronautic, automobile, and film industries in architecture.

Greg Lynn is the founder and owner of Greg Lynn FORM and the co-Founder of the robotics company Piaggio Fast Forward. In addition to buildings and environments he also designs industrial products for Alessi, Vitra, Swarovski and Nike. He won a Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale of Architecture and represented the United States in the American Pavilion at the Venice Biennale of Architecture twice. He received the American Academy of Arts & Letters Architecture Award and was awarded a fellowship from the United States Artists. Lynn serves on the Board of Trustees of the Canadian Centre for Architecture and has served on the corporate boards of technology companies including Curbside, Formant, and Matter Machine. He is a Professor at UCLA Architecture and Urban Design, an o. Univ. Prof. Arch. at the angewandte Wien, and was the Davenport Professor at Yale University from 2000-2016. He is the author of 14 books and 24 ebooks. Time Magazine named him one of 100 of the most innovative people in the world for the 21st century.

Related topics
Technology, Robotics, Piaggio Fast Forward
Related Links
  • Greg Lynn FORM
  • The Greg Lynn Show, Episode 1 with Neil Denari
  • TED Talk (2005): Organic Algorithms in Architecture
  • Education
    M.Arch., Princeton University
    B.E.D., Miami University of Ohio
    B.Phil., Miami University of Ohio
    2021 Swarovski Foundation Institute Mentor: Creatives for Our Future Program
    2020 Red Dot Award: Winner Best of the Best "Innovative Product"
    2020 Muse Design Award Platinum Winner
    2020 GDUSA Design Award Winner
    2017 Beazley Design of the Year Award Winner: Design Museum London
    2017 A' Design Award Winner
    2017 Treseder Fellowship - University of Melbourne, School of Design, inaugural award
    2015 AIA LA Unbuilt Award - Berkeley Global Campus Competition in collaboration with Kevin Daly Architects
    2015 Silver Medal in Design - Cal Poly Pomona
    2014 ANFA HAY Grant - Vision Science for Dynamic Architecture
    2014 Evolo Juror - Evolo Skyscraper Competition
    2013 Award for Teaching Excellence - Acadia
    2010 USA Fellow - United States Artists
    2009 Golden Lion - Venice Biennale of Architecture
    2005 30 Under 30: The Watch List of Future Landmarks - The Municipal Art Society of New York
    2003 Academy Award in Architecture - American Academy of Arts & Letters
    2003 Doctor Honoris CAUSA - Academy of Fine Arts & Design in Bratislava
    2001 Residency Prize - Wexner Center for Arts
    1999 Progressive Architecture Award - Korean Presbyterian Church of New York
    1999 AIA Honor Award - Korean Presbyterian Church of New York
    1999 AIA Honor Award - Cincinnati Country Day School
    1999 Design Excellence Award - Chamber of Commerce, Queens NY
    ← More Faculty